News Post

Cross Country Wins 17th Consecutive Metro Title

With its seven runners finishing in the top 15 spots, the St. Joseph’s Academy cross country team dominated the field at the 2023 Metro Cross Country Championship. This is SJA’s 17th consecutive Metro title. The race was held October 26 at Highland Road Park. 

The Redstickers scored 34 points to finish on top of the 15-team field. Rounding out the top five were Episcopal (53), Baton Rouge High (110), Zachary High (132) and Dutchtown (177). There were 144 runners in the race. 

Michelle Daigle finished first for the second year in a row, this year in a time of 17:42.67. She became just the fourth repeat Metro champion in SJA cross country history, following in the footsteps of Isabelle Brown (2017 and 2018), Annie Hill (2013 and 2014) and Wren Eversberg Eagleton (1987 and 1988).

Daigle was followed by Elise Brown, fourth place, 18:30.48; Grace Rennhoff, sixth place, 18:51.98; and Hannah Vaughan, 10th place, 19:11.36. 

SJA’s next five runners finished in 13th through 17th places. They were Ainsley Brignac, 13th place, 19:51.01; Julia Monzon, 14th place, 19:52.00; Kaitlyn Francise, 15th place, 19:56.70; Madison Mannino, 16th place, 20:05.32; and Charlotte Beck, 17th place, 20:08.23.

Sara Pasquier finished in 20th place in a time of 20:27.82 followed by Melia Hooper, 22nd place, 20:40.14; and Tiana Khuri, 24th place, 20:50.26. 

Following the meet, SJA honored its eight seniors: Elise Brown, Kathryn Casey, Kaitlyn Francise, Madison Mannino, Julia Monzon, Grace Rennhoff, Hannah Vaughan and Stella Vincent.

Next up is the Division 1-Region 2 State Qualifier on November 2 at Highland Road Park beginning at 9:40 a.m.


Mindy Brodhead Averitt
Communications Director