News Post

Runners Win 16th Consecutive Metro Title

With its top five runners finishing in the top 10, the St. Joseph’s Academy cross country team dominated the field at the 2022 Metro Cross Country Championship. This is SJA’s 16th consecutive Metro title. The race was held October 27 at Highland Road Park. 

The Redstickers scored 28 points to best the 12-team field. Rounding out the top five were Episcopal (49), University High (134), Walker (138) and St. Michael (143).

Sophomore Michelle Daigle finished first in a personal-record time of 17:57.1 to become SJA’s seventh individual Metro champion in the past 10 years. Junior Hannah Vaughan finished second in 18:04.6 followed by junior Elise Brown, seventh place, 18:59.2; junior Grace Rennhoff, eighth place, 19:03.7; and junior Madison Mannino, 10th place, 19:18.5.

Other results follow: junior Julia Monzon, 11th place, 19:32.4; junior Kaitlyn Francise, 14th place, 19.48.8; freshman Grace Martin, 15th place, 19:54.5; senior Claire Beyer, 16th place, 20:04.9; senior Emma Claire Hendry, 17th place, 20:05.5; sophomore Melia Hooper, 18th place, 20:08.0; and freshman Tiana Khuri, 21st place, 20:24.6. 

Following the meet, SJA honored its three seniors: Cassi Miller, Claire Beyer and Emma Claire Hendry.

Next up is the Division 1-Region 1 State Qualifier on November 3 at Highland Road Park beginning at 9:40 a.m.

Mindy Brodhead Averitt
Communications Director

Photos courtesy of Stacy Rennhoff