News Post

SJA Celebrates Feast of All Saints

With the student body divided between its two gymnasiums, St. Joseph’s Academy celebrated two All Saints’ Day masses on November 1. Father Kevin Zubel and Father Bob Stine were the presiders.

Readers for the two masses were Avery Bruce, Rachel Thompson, Carleigh Helouin, Audrey Rothkamm, Ava Kathryn Nesbit, Amelia Watson, Molly Ashworth and Anna White.

Lending their musical talents to the service were lead cantors Kaitlyn Savoie and Chloe Khuri and apprentice cantors Katie Rabalais and Claire Waggenspack. Keyboardists were Aimee Urdiales and Izzy Gruner, and Katie Schroeder played the guitar. The liturgy choirs were under the direction of Danielle Laird and senior Cate Arms, marking the first time a student conducted a choir for mass. 

The mass in the Academy Student Center was livestreamed on SJA’s Facebook page. It was produced by Media Coordinator Matt Smith and faculty members Sara Rounds and Meghan McGinty. Production assistants were members of the SJABR TV student organization: Andi Hayes, Amelie Loup, Catherine Murthy, Evelyn Schaff, Gianna Cordell, Lillian Landry, Abigail Martin, Carly McConnell and Megan Otterstetter. 

In addition to the gifts of bread and wine, the names of SJA family members and friends who have died were brought up at the offertory. Throughout the month of November, the Book of Remembrance will remain in the Chapel at SJA.

Following mass, Principal Stacia Andricain introduced the Sisters of St. Joseph who joined the Academy community for mass: Sisters Lucy Silvio, Adelaide Williamson, Joan Laplace, Anna Schellhaas and Chris Pologa. She also introduced SJA’s nomination for Student of the Year, senior Grace Anne Crifasi. Crifasi is a member of SJA’s 30+ Club, the SJA soccer team, National Honor Society, Beta Club, Student Ambassadors and Science Club. She is also an active volunteer in her community. Crifasi was joined at mass by her mother, Julie Holliday Crifasi, class of 1985.

Both gatherings closed with the singing of the alma mater led by Ella Kate Aucoin and Emma Littleton.

Mindy Brodhead Averitt
Communications Director

Photos by Jennifer M. Fontaine