News Post

SJA Inducts 2024 Athletic Hall of Fame Class

The St. Joseph’s Academy Athletic Hall of Fame welcomed its 2024 induction class during a special evening celebration on March 14 in the Academy Student Center. 

Heather Lott Winquist ’09 (golf), Kobi LeBlanc Chenevert ’93 (cross country, track & field) and Katie Spansel Estep ’01 (basketball) were honored. 

Athletic Director Erin Hart welcomed the crowd, and Mike Lamana, a 2018 Athletic Hall of Fame inductee, offered the blessing.

Hart provided an overview of the successes of the spring 2023, fall 2023 and winter 2024 sports teams, as well as an update of the spring 2024 season to date. She recognized Mark LaHaye, who has been named a 2024 National Coach of the Year finalist by the National High School Athletic Coaches Association. 

Also introduced were the current members of the Athletic Hall of Fame in attendance: Dr. Mallory Hitt Allen ’06, Coach Pete Boudreaux, Liz Fontenot, Lurline Hamilton ’64, Mike Lamana, Brenda LeBlanc, Barbara McManus ’66, Nan Murtagh, Lori Nero ’98, Dr. Julie Neumann ’03, Holly Randow and Kathy Saichuk.

Murtagh, a member of the SJA faculty and staff for 40 years and 2018 Hall of Fame inductee, served as the evening’s mistress of ceremonies. “The St. Joseph’s Academy Athletic Hal of Fame was established in 2015 to celebrate the great achievements and achievers in SJA athletics,” she told the crown. “We honor this year’s inductees as women of faith, integrity and service and thank them for representing and serving our beloved Academy with character, humility and grace.”

The three inductees were introduced by tribute videos produced by Erin Barrilleaux Albarado ’07 and Communications Director Mindy Brodhead Averitt. President Jan Breen and Principal Stacia Andricain presented the honorees with a replica of the SJA Hall of Fame logo carved from wood used on the original SJA gymnasium floor. 

Faculty member and strength and conditioning coach Liz Fontenot, a 2016 Hall of Fame inductee, offered the closing prayer. 

The Hall of Fame planning committee was co-chaired by Averitt and Mission Advancement Director Meg Gerald. Joining them on the committee were Hart, Murtagh, Assistant Athletic Director Dorinda Beaumont, Assistant Director of Advancement: Events Jennifer Knight and Alumnae Director Alli Bourgeois ’14. 

SAGE Dining Services prepared the meal. Sponsors for the evening were Baker Printing, Baton Rouge Coca-Cola and “The Original” Heroman’s Florist.

Mindy Brodhead Averitt
Communications Director