News Post

SJA Tennis Classic Breaks Records

The 10th SJA Tennis Classic, held March 8-10 at Bocage Racquet Club in Baton Rouge, drew the largest field in tournament history, with 380 players. The event was hosted by the Academy’s Alumnae Association and raised more than $30,000, another record, to benefit the SJA Tennis Classic Scholarship, which offers need-based tuition assistance to deserving students and their families. 

Presenting sponsor for the 2024 tournament was Baton Rouge Digital Products, owned and operated by Patricia Brignac Talbot, SJA class of 1984. “I am so grateful to the committee, volunteers, sponsors, Bocage staff and all the players who signed up to play,” Talbot said. “It exceeded all expectations, and I am overwhelmed with gratitude and joy. Even though it was a rainout for Friday, the courts were ready for play at 7:30 a.m. Saturday, and we had two full days of tennis. I appreciate everyone involved in making this tournament a huge success.”

Signage sponsor was Balhoff Graphics. T-shirt sponsor was First Horizon Bank. Bar sponsor was the Munn Family. Hydration drink sponsor was A-game premium hydration beverage. IV wellness sponsor was a Sync Wellness. 

Gold sponsors were Apex Technologies; Avant Tous Beauty and Medical Spa; Dudley DeBosier Injury Lawyers; GoEat Concepts; Guillot Farms Inc.; Koch | St. Martin, LLC; and Sasser Direct Primary Care.

Red sponsors were Brown Rogers Physical Therapy; Campesi Design; The DuBos Group, LLC; Gage; the Gardiner Family; Greater Baton Rouge Community Tennis Association; Stephanie Chenevert Senior Loan Offer - GMFS Mortgage; Investar Bank; Clay Elliott, CFP - Oak Capital Financial Advisors; Richards Honda; SJA Dads’ Club; Westmoreland Asset Management of Raymond James; and Workbox, LLC.

White sponsors were Cagley Homes; Glenstone Dental Family Dentistry; Ideal Vision Care; The Louisiana Insurance Center; Maria and Brad Mathews Family; Nelson Custom Builders, LLC; Redstick Refinement Modern Etiquette; SEMS Inc.; Simmons Asset Management; Southern Chill; and Talbot, Carmouche & Marcello.

Joining Talbot on the Tennis Classic planning committee were Alli Bourgeois ’14, Kimberly Kwan ’10, Kim Wong Kwan ’79, Lucille Bourgeois, Sarah Nelson, Laurie O’Neill Linehan ’89, Emily May Kline ’99 and Brian Balhoff.

Mindy Brodhead Averitt
Communications Director