News Post

Soirée Sets Fundraising Record

The Soirée, St. Joseph’s Academy’s premier fundraising event, was held on the evening of November 18 in the Academy Student Center. With more than 300 people in attendance, the event raised a record $237,000 to provide campus-wide enhancements to benefit the young women of SJA.

Guests enjoyed a night of live and silent auctions, raffles, great food and drinks by area restaurants and caterers and live music by Ned Fasullo’s Fabulous Jazz Trio with vocals by Hugo Andricain. 

Through Qtego Auction Technology, guests were able to bid on auction items before The Soirée began. During the event, they used their smartphones to track action on the silent and live auctions and raffles. Guests also enjoyed the SJA Student Ambassadors who were on hand to assist throughout the evening. 

Devin Tullier was the winner of the Dream Vacation Raffle. 

The planning committee was chaired by Christy Castille Haik ’82 and Stacy Root Koch ’81. They were joined by Dream Vacation Raffle Chair Joanne Harvey, Restaurant and Pull-a-Card Chair Tracey Koch, Sponsor Committee Chair Kim Morgan, Talent Chair Amy Radle Fasullo ’92 and committee members Suzie Toups Adler ’85, Katie Norwood Alexander ’86, Sarah Fautheree, Jenna Fuselier, Molly D’Aquin Kimble ’85, Michelle Mitchell and Linda Thompson. Committee advisors were Meg Gerald and Cydney Morris. 

The Soirée committee owes a debt of gratitude to the individuals and organizations who sponsored The Soirée. Presenting sponsors were Sarah and Greg Fautheree and Michelle and Horace Mitchell. 

Sanctity-level sponsors were Franklin Press and Celebrity Theatres. Joy-level sponsors were Heck No Land Company LLC, Fusion Architects and Qtego Auction Services. Action-level sponsors were Arkel Constructors; Jan Rhorer Breen ’69; Capitol City Produce; Firequest LLC; Elizabeth (Batchelor ’72) and Tom McKowen; and Thornton, Musso & Bellemin Water Treatment Consultants. 

Red-level sponsors were Doyle Electric, Anne and Tom Meek and Oak Point Fresh Market. White-level sponsors were August Events; Bayou Automotive; CI Group; Lauren and H. Davis Cole; Christine and Milton Dureau; Grace Hebert Curtis Architects; Hannis T. Bourgeois & Co.; Drs. Elise and James LaLonde; Linda and Larry Messina, Sharon and Tim Poche; Raymond James & Associates Inc; Ritter Maher Architects; Kristy Roubique ’76; School Time Uniforms; Sherman & Balhoff, Specialists in Orthodontics; Gabriella and Marshall St. Amant; and Mary “Moo” (Turner ’72) and Martin Svendson. 

Participating restaurants were Parrain’s, Eliza Restaurant, Phil’s Oyster Bar, DiGiulio Brothers, Mestizo’s, Anthony’s Italian Deli, Nothing Bundt Cakes, Community Coffee, Serop’s, SAGE Dining Services, Paul Wong’s Chinese & Sushi, Ichiban, Red Lotus and Velvet Cactus.

Also helping to make the event a success were Element, August Events, Abstract Lighting, Vivid Ink, Andy Blouin and The Blend, Calandro’s and the Andrea Clesi McMakin ’74 STEM Lab.

Mindy Brodhead Averitt
Communications Director

Photos by MG Miller Photography (Mary Grace Miller '16)